fearless females  of hockey

In 1889 the first women’s ice hockey game was recorded in Ottowa, Canada. One of the first female players was the daughter of Lord Stanley of Preston, Lady Isobel Stanley, for whom the Stanley cup and the NWHL, the National Women’s Hockey League’s Isobel Cup was named. But it wasn’t until the 1920’s that women’s hockey was recorded in the United States when college teams started to form.

After WWII, women’s hockey stalled for a long time, but it eventually began gaining popularity again in the 1970’s. In 1998 women’s hockey was officially added as an event at the Winter Olympics. The U.S. team won the first gold medal. The Canadian women have won the gold in every Olympics since.

In 2006 the Canadian Women’s Hockey League, CWHL, was founded and folded in 2019 leaving behind approximately 150 players. But women keep playing, inspired by the women before them. Today women’s hockey teams can be found on just about any college campus that also has a men’s team, which is thanks to Title IX. Women’s College Hockey is alive and well, but the future of Women’s Professional Hockey now depends on The National Women’s Hockey League, starting in 2020. The league only has four teams so far: The New York Riveters, the Boston Pride, the Buffalo Beauts, and the Connecticut Whale, and they are the first women’s league to pay their players. #FearlessInThePursuit


monique & Jocelyn lamoreux

Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson is an American ice hockey forward who scored the game-winning shootout goal to win the gold medal for Team USA at the 2018 Winter Olympics against Canada after her twin sister Monique tied the game near the end of regulation. Jocelyne and her sister Monique were the first set of twins ever to play women’s ice hockey in the Olympics. Jocelyne has been to the Olympics three times; in 2010, 2014, & 2018. Team USA won silver medals in 2010 & 2014 and a gold medal in 2018.

Monique and her twin sister were both all-state in ice hockey as teenagers. They played on the Peewee Boys’ team in 2001–02 team, called the Wheat Kings, at twelve-years-old, eventually leading them to the North Dakota State Hockey championship. They accepted a scholarship to Shattuck-St. Mary’s School and played one season of NCAA hockey for the University of Minnesota and three for the University of North Dakota. They led the school to four state titles and three national championships in 2005, 2006, & 2007.

sarah marie vaillancourt

Sarah Marie Vaillancourt is a Canadian women’s ice hockey player. She is a member of the Canada women’s national team and a member of Montreal Stars (CWHL). Vaillancourt started skating at the age of two years and a half and playing hockey at five years. She made the national team when she was 18. In college, she played for Harvard University and was named the Ivy League and ECAC Hockey Player of the Year. She led Harvard in scoring and was ranked fourth overall in the NCAA in 2007–08. In 2008, she won the coveted Patty Kazmaier Award.

Sarah is a 2-time Olympic Gold Medalist, won World Championships Gold and 4-time World Championships Silver. She was also the Clarkson Cup Champion 2010- 2011. From 2003 to 2009 Vaillancourt played 88 international games for Team Canada and scored 36 goals adding 39 assists. She won 2 Olympic Gold medals for Canada, in 2006 and 2010.