fearless females  of basketball

It wasn’t long after basketball was invented that women started playing in 1892, against many parents, teachers, and doctors’ oppositions, as they took issue with girls playing contact sports saying females were too weak for such an aggressive game. Nonetheless, Senda Berenson adapted the rules for women and introduced the game at Smith College. In 1923 the Women’s Division of National Amateur Athletic Federation, NAAF formed and in 1926 the Amateur Athletic Union sponsored the first ever national women’s basketball championship, using men’s rules. We fought to keep playing, maintained our position, and by 1971 the Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women was formed, giving women a chance to compete in national championships.

In 1997 the WNBA had their first season and in 1999 The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame opens in Knoxville, Tennessee. By 2016 33{dfd5e03c767e108f62b1081a15ed380b6587262dca3ba1339a8a6409a457c6fb} of WNBA teams are led by women coaches or managers. One of the most recognizable names in all of college basketball, C. Vivian Stringer, Rutgers’s Head Coach, joins the 1,000 win-club. She becomes the sixth Division I coach to reach the milestone in 2018. Women have proven their strength in the sport of basketball to be every bit great as men’s today.



Breanna Stewart is an American professional basketball player for the Seattle Storm of the Women’s National Basketball Association, WNBA. Stewart was the National Gatorade Player of the Year in high school, the Gatorade Female Athlete of the Year, and a McDonald’s All-American. In college she led the University of Connecticut Huskies to four national championships, was named the Final Four’s most outstanding player a record four times and was a three-time consensus national player of the year.

Stewart recently signed a multi-year endorsement deal with Nike. She was the first overall pick in the 2016 WNBA Draft, played alongside superstar veteran point guard Sue Bird, and was named the 2016 WNBA Rookie of the Year. Stewart missed the entire 2019 WNBA season after suffering an injury while playing for Russian club Dynamo Kursk in the 2019 Euro League Women final. Because the WNBA currently lacks any kind of inactive list, the Storm suspended Stewart to free up a roster spot. Shortly thereafter, the league made her a paid ambassador for the 2019 season, making her the first active player to fill such a role. She recovered and returned to the court. She is a two-time All-Star. She led the Seattle Storm to two championships in 2018 and 2020 and received the WNBA Finals MVP award both times.


Maya Moore is an American professional basketball player for the Minnesota Lynx of the Women’s National Basketball Association, WNBA. Moore was the first overall pick in the 2011 WNBA Draft. Sports Illustrated called Moore the greatest winner in the history of women’s basketball, naming her their inaugural Performer of the Year in 2017.

In her high school career, Moore was the National Gatorade Player of the Year, the Gatorade Female Athlete of the Year, and a McDonald’s All-American. In college she played forward for the UConn, University of Connecticut, women’s basketball team where she won back to back national championships, 2009 & 2010. She was the John Wooden Award winner in 2009 after leading Connecticut to an undefeated national championship. Moore led Connecticut to its second straight national championship, continuing the undefeated streak. She led the Huskies in extending that streak to an NCAA both-gender record, all divisions. Maya became the first female basketball player to sign with Air Jordan and after the 2017 season, her win-loss record in the U.S. since high school was 497–78.

Moore has won four WNBA championships in 2011, 2013, 2015, & 2017, a WNBA Most Valuable Player Award 2014, a WNBA Finals MVP Award in 2013, three WNBA All-Star Game MVPs in 2015, 2017, and 2018, two Olympic gold medals in 2012 & 2016, a WNBA Scoring Title in 2014, and the WNBA Rookie of the Year Award in 2011. In 2012, she won both the Spanish league title and Euro League title playing for Ros Casares Valencia. She also played for China and from 2013 to 2015, Moore also won the Chinese league title every year.